Meteora is a special and spectacular landscape in central Greece consisting of a formation of huge monolithic pillars. On some of them a monastery is placed on the top. Six of them are still occupied and can be visited:

Monastery of St. Nicholas Anapausas

Monastery of Agios Nikolaos Anapafsas


Monastery of Great Meteoron

Megalo Meteora - Metamorphosis


Monastery of Varlaam

Monastery Varlaam before Sunset


Monastery of Rousanou

Monastery Rousanou


Monastery of the Holy Trinity

Monastery Agia Triada - Meteora


Monastery of St. Stephen

Monastery of Agios Stefanos - Meteora